Dave Lawrence
Arts Council of Indianapolis
President & CEO
(317) 631-3301


INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA – The Arts Council of Indianapolis will announce its 2017-2018 round of Creative Renewal Arts Fellows Friday night at a special reception at the Indianapolis Art Center. The evening will also celebrate the 2015-2017 round of fellows with a retrospective exhibition on display until May 31, 2017.

Launched in 1999 by the Arts Council of Indianapolis, the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship program allows artists and arts administrators the opportunity to reinvigorate their work by renewing and refreshing their creativity. Fellows are awarded a $10,000 grant that they may use toward activities they believe will refresh their creativity and recharge their work. The Arts Council convenes a national panel of arts professionals to adjudicate the applications and select the fellowship recipients. Since its inception, the Arts Council has awarded more than $3.35 million in grants to 400 fellows. Grants are awarded on a biennial basis and funded through a grant from Lilly Endowment Inc.

“The entire community benefits from having professional working artists in central Indiana and the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship provides those artists with the chance to renew their creativity. We are grateful to the Lilly Endowment for its ongoing support of this program and look forward to the impact it will have on this latest group of fellows,” said Dave Lawrence, President and CEO of the Arts Council.

The 2017-2018 Creative Renewal Arts Fellows:


Judy Byron, Partnerships for Lawrence

Chad Franer, Indianapolis Museum of Art

Liza Hyatt, Art Therapist

Jennifer Complo McNutt, Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians & Western Art

Don Steffy, Indianapolis Children’s Choir

Karen Thickstun, Butler Community Arts School

Lisa Whitaker, Butler Arts Center


Michael Johnson

Heidi Phillips


Maurice Broaddus

Kevin McKelvey

Wendy Vergoz


Leela Breithaupt

Dianna Davis

Victoria Griswold

Gregory Martin

Jordan Munson

Jayna Park

Tad Robinson

Miho Sasaki


James Solomon Benn


D. Del Reverda-Jennings

James Wille Faust

Reagan Furqueron

Wendell Lowe

Phil O’Malley

Orlando Pelaez

Meredith Setser

Barbara Stahl

Samuel Vázquez

About the Arts Council of Indianapolis

The Arts Council of Indianapolis fosters meaningful engagement in the arts by nurturing a culture where artists and arts organizations thrive. The Arts Council is an organization that advocates for the need and importance of broad community funding and support for a thriving arts scene; innovates by constantly pursuing and promoting innovative ideas and programs that better serve the area, its artists, and arts organizations; and connects artists, audiences, businesses, foundations, and arts and cultural organizations with opportunities to explore and expand central Indiana’s creative vitality.

The Arts Council owns and operates two performance and exhibition spaces, the Indianapolis Artsgarden (attached to Circle Centre Mall) and Gallery 924 (at 924 N. Pennsylvania Street). The Arts Council allocates public funding to arts and cultural organizations through a competitive grant program; offers fellowship opportunities including the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship, the Transformational Impact Fellowship, and the Robert D. Beckmann, Jr. Emerging Artist Fellowship; provides programs, services, and technical assistance for artists and arts organizations; and manages the city’s public art program. The Indy Arts Guide provides a comprehensive arts calendar featuring thousands of events, performances, and exhibitions throughout central Indiana. For more information on the Arts Council, call (317) 631-3301 or visit online at

Connect with the Arts Council of Indianapolis on Facebook/indyarts, Twitter and Instagram @artscouncilindy, and online at


I am hugely honored to announce that I was am among the latest class of recipients. Of the hundreds who applied, there were a total of thirty artists who received the fellowship.

I look forward to the adventures in writing this grant will help take me .